Wilmington Distracted Driving Accident Attorneys
Legal Representation For Clients Across North Carolina
One minute you are waiting at a stoplight in your car and the next you are jolted forward into oncoming traffic. Had the driver who hit you not been texting, you and your family would be safe and unharmed.
If a distracted driver has caused you or your loved ones harm, we urge you to contact a car accident lawyer at Rhine Law Firm, P.C.
Based in Wilmington, our comprehensive personal injury law firm is committed to helping individuals and families in North Carolina who have suffered major injuries as a result of careless behavior. Throughout the years, we have assisted clients injured in car accidents caused by distracted drivers who were:
- Adjusting the radio
- Eating or drinking
- Influenced by drugs or alcohol
- Taking care of children
- Texting or talking on cellphones
Facts on Distracted Driving
Roughly 83% of drivers consider roadway safety to be important; however, approximately 47% feel comfortable texting while driving! The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that in 2015, over 390,000 people were injured and 3,400 killed in vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers.
Distracted driving is a threat to more than just other motorists. In fact, pedestrian accidents are on the rise and over 50% of accidents in work (construction) zones are the result of either speeding or distracted driving.
North Carolina Bans Texting While Driving
State law prohibits people who are actively operating a motor vehicle from using a mobile device to manually text. In addition, it prohibits reading e-mails or text messages on these devices. Those in violation of this ban are subject to a $100 fine in addition to court costs. Exceptions do apply for drivers who safely stop or park their vehicles, as well as those performing their duty as a member of law enforcement, fire department, or emergency response. The use of GPS and voice-operated "hands-free" mobile functions are allowed.
Drivers under 18 have more limitations on mobile device use while operating a vehicle. They are prohibited from using technology equipped with cameras, music, web access, and games. This includes cellphones and iPads. These devices may only be used to contact emergency responders, hospitals, medical facilities, a fire department, or law enforcement. An exception exists for communication with a parent, spouse, or guardian. Violators are subjected to a $25 fine.
Special Law Applicable to School Bus Drivers
School bus drivers are prohibited from using mobile telephones or other related technology, except in situations where there are medical, public safety, or mechanical concerns that pose a risk. Violators will face a Class 2 misdemeanor and be assessed a fine of at least $100.
Additional Pending Legislation in North Carolina
The North Carolina General Assembly is following a national trend of pursuing additional legislation to reduce distracted driving. Senate Bill 364 would require all drivers (regardless of age) to use mobile devices in a "hand-free" mode only while operating a vehicle. If the measure is approved, North Carolina will be the 15th state to adopt a similar law requiring "hands-free" use. The bill is dedicated to Brian Garlock, a teenager from Charlotte who was killed in an accident involving distracted driving. Violators would be subject to a heightened $200 fine.
Texting and Driving Is Dangerous - We Hold Negligent Drivers Accountable
While technology has its advantages, the use of electronic devices - specifically cellphones - while operating a car or truck can leave people injured or dead. Investigations require a thorough review and analysis of cellphone records. The process is challenging and complicated, especially when cellphone companies do not keep adequate records of a customer's activities. That’s where a lawyer comes in.
While we recognize that no amount of compensation can take away the pain you or your family member has endured, filing a claim can help to ease the financial burdens.
We invite you to contact Rhine Law Firm, P.C., at (910) 772-9960 or toll-free at (866) 772-9960 for a free initial consultation with one of our Wilmington car accident lawyers. Our law office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Evening and weekend appointments are available upon request. We offer Spanish interpretation and translation services.
- Car Accident Blogs
- North Carolina Uses New Method to Catch Drivers Who Text
- Distracted Driving is Dangerous, Victims Can Hold Drivers Liable
- Greenville Holds Event to Stop Teen Distracted Driving Accidents
- Avoiding Distracted Driving - NCDOT
- Distraction.gov Official US Government Website for Distracted Driving
- Distracted Driving Info from CDC
- Car Accident Overview
- Auto Property Damage
- Bicycle Accidents
- Distracted Driving Accidents
- Hit-And-Run Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Passenger Injuries/Rights
- Pedestrian Accidents
- Reckless Driving
- Recreational Vehicle Accident
- Rideshare Accidents
- Soft Tissue Injury
- Sue Drunk Drivers
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists
“They worked hard for me after I was involved in an auto accident. I appreciate their efforts and making me feel like family.”